Ubiquitin & Friends Symposium 2023

The 9th “Ubiquitin & Friends Symposium” was organized by the SFB Targeted Protein Degradation on 27 – 28 April, 2023, in the Van Swieten Hall in Vienna’s 9th district, close to the historic city center of Vienna. We were honored that 11 highly renowned scientists (see below) accepted our invitation to present at our symposium, of whom  unfortunately one had to cancel on short notice. Thanks to the guest speaker and together with short talks selected from submitted abstracts and poster sessions, preceded by flash talks, an exciting program could be held, with topics ranging from structural insights of the molecular machines involved in proteostasis to chemical approaches for studying the ubiquitin system as well as various biological pathways such as autophagy, protein quality control and proteostasis during stress, aging and diseases.

Program (PDF)

Poster (PDF)

Guest Speakers 2023

Elke Deuerling (University of Konstanz)
Judith Frydman (Stanford University)
Ramanujan Hegde (MRC LMB, Cambridge)
Noboru Mizushima (University of Tokyo)
Hidde Ploegh (Boston Children’s Hospital)
Simona Polo (IFOM, Milan)
Satpal Virdee (University of Dundee)
Florian Wilfling (MPI Frankfurt)
Minglei Zhao (University of Chicago),
Seda Koyuncu (CECAD Cluster of Excellence, University of Cologne)


Best Short Talk 2023

Jakob Farnung (Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Martinsried, and ETH Zürich)

Best Posters 2023

Sara Carrillo Roas (MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge)
João Diamantino (University of Duisburg-Essen)
Marintia Nava Garcia (Gregor Mendel Institute, Vienna)

Travel Awards 2023

Laura Claessens (Leiden University Medical Center)
Leo Kiss (Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Martinsried)
Mohit Misra (Goethe University Frankfurt)
Rachel O’Dea (Max Planck Institute of Molecular Physiology, Dortmund)
María I. Daudén (Spanish National Cancer Research Center)

ECR Organizing Commitee 2023

Helen Belalcazar (Max Perutz Labs), Victoria Faas (IMP), Luca Ferrari (Max Perutz Labs), Lilian Kirwan (IMBA)