Ubiquitin & Friends Symposium 2022

The 8th “Ubiquitin & Friends Symposium” was organized in 2022 by the SFB F79 Targeted Protein Degradation and took place on 28 – 29 April 2022 in the Van Swieten Hall of the Medical University of Vienna. Following the tradition of “Ubiquitin and Friends”, the symposium brought together international experts and novices from ubiquitin and protein degradation research in an amical atmosphere. We were delighted that 11 highly distinguished experts accepted our invitation to present at our meeting (see below). Among them, Jesper Svejstrup unfortunately could not travel on short notice. The guest speakers covered a range of topics from quality control mechanisms to novel tools in chemical biology, protein degradation therapeutics, autophagy, cellular homeostasis and DNA repair. In addition, very interesting projects of international students and postdocs were selected for short talks based on their submitted abstracts (see program). Poster sessions, preceded by flash talks, provided opportunities for the early career scientists to present their projects and interact with renowned experts and peers.

Altogether it was a fantastic in-person meeting, which we all had been missing in the 2-year long break of personal meetings we had due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Program (PDF)

Poster (PDF)

Guest Speakers 2022

Eric Fischer (Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Harvard)
Kathrin Lang (ETH Zürich)
Francesco Licausi (University of Oxford)
Liz Miller (MRC laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge)
Nobuo Noda (Institute of Microbial Chemistry, Tokyo)
Ilaria Piazza (Max-Delbrück-Center for Molecular Medicine, Berlin)
Michael Rape (UC Berkeley)
Susan Shao (Harvard Medical School, Boston)
Mikolaj Slabicki (Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Boston)
Helen Walden (University of Glasgow)

Best Short Talk 2022

Itika Saha (Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Martinsried)

Best Posters 2022

Evmorfia Dalietou (University of Oxford)
Maximilian Fottner (ETH Zurich)
Barbara Sousa (University of Cambridge)

Travel Awards 2022

Martin Attwood (University of Oxford)
Anniruddha Das (International Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology, Warsaw)
Imke Lemmer (Ludwig-Maximilans-University, Munich)
Lisa Merklinger (Technical University of Denmark, Lyngby)
Tamara Sijacky (MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge)

ECR Organizing Committee 2022

Sara Bernardo (MedUni Vienna), Luca Ferrari (Max Perutz Labs), Susanne Huhmann (University of Vienna), Amanda Ng (CeMM)